Quick make: Poncho

I saw this cute and easy poncho article – https://saltymom.wordpress.com/2013/06/11/diy-sew-a-poncho/ – on Pinterest the other day and thought I’d give it a whirl.

What do you need?

  • Two rectangles of fabric (I used 16 inches by the width of the fabric)
  • Sewing machine, pins, scissors, thread, etc
  • Matching cord to lace up the sides (2 pieces about 20 inches long)

What do you do?

There’s not much more that I can add beyond the original post, it’s that simple a make.

  1. Finish the edges of the rectangles using your preferred method.
  2. Put the two rectangles right sides together.
  3. Sew them together front and back along one of the long sides.
    I went about 16 inches up at the front and 10 inches up from the back.
  4. Open up the poncho
  5. Put lace holes up each side under the arms (I went up about 10 inches with these)
  6. Lace up the sides (top to bottom) and tie the cord off in a bow

IMG_20151003_110828

All done.  I messed mine up a bit by failing to match the pattern on the two rectangles. It’s an error that I wasn’t too bothered about fixing for a piece of casual wear. I can just take the approach my husband does, which is to rewrite my mental history and call my make errors ‘design features’.

I love how deep the back is. Because I knew I’d always be wearing the poncho over something else, I could have a nice deep V at the back without worrying about bra coverage.

2 thoughts on “Quick make: Poncho

Leave a comment